Sustainability

Climate change is impacting our environment and providing new economic opportunities.


As part of our new strategic plan, we’re championing sustainable solutions to help Veterans and members of the military community establish resilient businesses that mitigate and adapt to the impacts of climate change.


What is sustainable business planning?

Every time an entrepreneur’s planning process extends beyond financial needs to account for environmental and societal impacts, they have engaged in sustainable business planning. Sustainable business planning seeks to balance profit, environment, and community by:


  • Taking ownership of impacts, both financially and non-financially
  • Contributing to the development and spread of resilient, healthy business practices
  • Building strong community

Although this document focuses on the environmental component, it is always important to keep community and financial viability in mind as well.


Why should I care about sustainability?

The bottom line is that sustainable business practices are good business practices. Despite the challenges, many businesses are continuing to implement sustainable operations because of the inherent advantages they can result in:


  • Increased profitability – Sustainability and efficiency go hand in hand. Streamlined processes and reduced material use not only reduces a business’ impact on the environment, but can also save money.

  • Stakeholders – Customers, employees and investors are increasingly concerned with business sustainability. A study by Unilever indicated that 33% of customers want to buy from businesses that are doing environmental good. At the same time, some clients and investors are requiring businesses to provide environmental performance information. Maintaining a good reputation with these groups may require taking on sustainability initiatives.

  • Lower risk – Businesses with more sustainable practices and supply chains tend to be more resistant to unexpected environmental impacts on their operations.

Is sustainability right for my business?

Every business is capable of being more sustainable. However, the form that sustainability takes will vary. For some businesses it may make sense for sustainability to become a key part of all its operations and marketing. For others, it may be limited to smaller initiatives. In this sense, sustainability is a spectrum, where each business must determine its own optimal point that balances profit with environmental and social impacts.


The degree to which sustainability becomes a part of your business strategy is dependent on many factors. Answering these questions can help you to determine how sustainability fits into your business:


  • What can I afford to do? – Financial viability comes first. Afterall, a business that is not making money cannot maintain any sustainability initiatives in the long term.

  • What do my customers want? – If sustainability is not a criterion for customers’ purchases, then greening your product or service may not make sense. Instead, consider other areas of your business operations that could be made more sustainable.

  • What is my competition doing? – Whether your competitors are or are not undertaking sustainability initiatives has implications for your business. If they are, you may risk being left behind. If not, it may be an opportunity to distinguish your business.

How do I get started?

Finding the exact way to integrate sustainability into your business takes time and care. This four-step process will help guide you through some of the key considerations and planning needed to develop and share your commitment to sustainability:


1. Realize – Identify the ways in which your business impacts the environment. Consider questions such as:


  • What business processes use energy?

  • Where are my products coming from and does that place enforce environmental protection laws?

  • What resources support my service?

  • How am I delivering my product or service?

In addition, consider establishing a baseline for your business location’s environmental impact. Natural Resources Canada’s and Energy Star’s Portfolio Manager is a free tool that can help to evaluate the energy, water and greenhouse emissions of your business location: https://www.nrcan.gc.ca/energy/efficiency/buildings/energy-benchmarking/3693


2. Understand – Determine how the environment you operate in affects your business. Review the questions in the “Is sustainability right for my business?” section. Apply a new sustainability lens to your business model canvas:

  • What can I control or change?

  • Which stakeholders affect my decision?

  • How would a change in one aspect, for instance a supplier, affect the rest of the canvas?

3. Explore – Taking the information gathered in the previous steps, identify your options for sustainable business practices. The ideas that follow range from beginner, which can be implemented quickly, to advanced, which require significant planning and resources:


DifficultySustainability InitiativeNotes
BeginnerCut lighting costs
  • Lighting can account for 20% - 50% of the electricity bill depending on the type of business.
  • Switching to LED lighting over incandescent or halogen can save up to 75% of that energy and occupancy lighting sensors can also reduce costs significantly.

BeginnerJoin local initiatives
BeginnerReduce single use products

For instance, paper:

  • The production of paper consumes large amounts of energy.
  • Going digital can save time and money.
  • Reducing the amount of packaging used to ship products can also reduce the amount of waste generated.

ModeratePurchase efficient tools
ModerateSupplier screening
  • Small businesses cannot control suppliers in the way larger firms do, but this does not mean they cannot be selective.
  • When purchasing products or materials from a supplier, ask whether they have any certifications or sustainability initiatives.
  • Look for and understand the meaning of various product certifications. These “Ecolabels” indicate that a product has met a set of environmental standards.
  • Consider buying locally to reduce transportation emissions.

ModerateScreen your business space
Advanced3rd party certification
AdvancedBuilding renovations

4. Develop – Once you’ve explored some options, define your sustainability goals and create a plan to achieve them. Finally, establish how you will share your initiatives with customers.


Now that you have reviewed your business impact, the environment in which you operate, and considered different options, you are ready to establish realistic goals and a plan to achieve them. To ensure that you develop quality goals, use the SMART (Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant, Timely) goal model. In addition, establish a plan to review and evaluate your goals on an ongoing basis.


If you intend to market your sustainability initiatives, determining how to clearly communicate your goals and accomplishments to stakeholders is essential. Accusations of greenwashing can cause considerable harm, as BDC’s Chief Strategy Officer has noted, “a reputation takes many years to build but can be lost in minutes”. By following the Realize, Understand, Explore, and Develop model to build your commitment to sustainability, you have already taken a step to minimize this risk. However, there are additional best practices to consider:


  1. Start with a great product or service – Sustainability benefits will not be enough to attract and retain customers on their own. The base product or service must adequately meet the customer’s need before sustainability attributes will be compelling to customers.

  2. Make sure that “green” fits your brand – The perceived authenticity of your sustainability branding depends on the extent of your commitment. A single product in a line of products is likely to be perceived as greenwashing. This does not mean that you cannot present smaller sustainability initiatives to customers but that the promotion should be proportional to the work being done.

  3. Consider your market – For sustainability to add value to your brand it needs to differentiate you from your competition. Investigating your competitor’s sustainability initiatives and finding unique ways to present yours is an important part of ensuring you effectively communicate with customers.

  4. Be transparent and honest – The entire business does not need to be sustainable to make sustainability claims but being clear about your commitment is essential. The best way to avoid accusations of greenwashing and build customer trust is to be honest in your representations. For guidance regarding best practices for marketing claims refer to: https://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/cb-bc.nsf/eng/02701.html

Small business case-studies

Notes:

  1. https://online.hbs.edu/blog/post/what-is-sustainability-in-business
  2. https://bimpactassessment.net/sites/all/themes/bcorp_impact/pdfs/EM_Evaluating_Suppliers_Distributors_Social_%20Environmental_Practices.pdf
  3. Realize, Understand, Explore, Develop adapted from: https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/files/documents/smart_steps_greening_guide.pdf
  4. https://www.sba.gov/category/types-businesses/green-business
  5. https://www.bdc.ca/en/articles-tools/money-finance/manage-finances/pages/how-increase-profits-cutting-energy-costs.aspx?type=C&order=2
  6. https://www.sba.gov/category/types-businesses/green-business
  7. https://www.bdc.ca/en/articles-tools/business-strategy-planning/manage-business/pages/how-greening-your-business-can-save-you-money.aspx
  8. https://www.bdc.ca/en/articles-tools/marketing-sales-export/marketing/pages/green-marketing-provides-competitive-advantages.aspx

Durabilité

Si les changements climatiques ont un impact sur notre environnement, ils offrent également des perspectives économiques novatrices.


Dans le cadre de notre nouveau plan stratégique, nous encourageons les solutions durables pour aider les vétérans et les membres de la communauté militaire à créer des entreprises résilientes qui atténuent les effets des changements climatiques et s’y adaptent.

Qu’est-ce que la planification d’une entreprise durable?

Chaque fois que le processus de planification va au-delà des besoins financiers pour tenir compte des répercussions environnementales et sociales et équilibrer les bénéfices, l’environnement et la collectivité, l’entrepreneur se lance dans la planification d’une entreprise durable :

  • en assumant la responsabilité des impacts, qu’ils soient financiers ou non;

  • en contribuant au développement et à la diffusion de pratiques commerciales saines et résilientes;
       

  • en bâtissant des collectivités fortes.

Bien que ce document se concentre sur la composante environnementale, il est toujours important de garder à l’esprit la viabilité communautaire et financière de l’entreprise.

Pourquoi devrais-je tenir compte de la durabilité?

En définitive, les pratiques commerciales durables constituent de bonnes pratiques commerciales. Malgré les défis, de nombreuses entreprises continuent à mettre en œuvre des activités durables en raison des avantages inhérents qui peuvent en découler :


  • Augmentation de la rentabilité: La durabilité et l’efficacité vont de pair. La simplification des processus et la réduction de l’utilisation des matériaux permettent non seulement d’atténuer l’impact d’une entreprise sur l’environnement, mais aussi de réaliser des économies.

  • Intervenants: Les clients, les employés et les investisseurs sont de plus en plus préoccupés par la durabilité des entreprises. Une étude réalisée par Unilever indique que 33 % des clients souhaitent acheter auprès d’entreprises qui respectent l’environnement. Parallèlement, certains clients et investisseurs exigent des entreprises qu’elles fournissent des renseignements sur leur rendement environnemental. Pour maintenir une bonne réputation auprès de ces groupes, il peut être nécessaire de prendre des initiatives en matière de durabilité.

  • Risque plus faible: Les entreprises ayant des pratiques et des chaînes d’approvisionnement durables tendent à être plus résistantes aux conséquences environnementales inattendues sur leurs activités.   

La durabilité est-elle adaptée à mon entreprise?

Toute entreprise est capable d’être plus durable. Toutefois, la forme que prend la durabilité peut varier. Pour certaines entreprises, il peut être judicieux de faire de la durabilité un élément clé de toutes leurs activités et de leur marketing. Pour d’autres, la durabilité peut se limiter à des initiatives de moindre envergure. En ce sens, la durabilité est un spectre, où chaque entreprise doit déterminer son propre point optimal en vue d’équilibrer les bénéfices et les répercussions environnementales et sociales.

 

La mesure dans laquelle la durabilité fait partie intégrante de la stratégie de votre entreprise dépend de nombreux facteurs. Répondre à ces questions peut vous aider à déterminer comment incorporer la durabilité dans votre entreprise :  

  • Que puis-je me permettre de faire? La viabilité financière passe avant tout. Il va sans dire qu’une entreprise qui n’est pas rentable ne peut maintenir aucune initiative de durabilité à long terme.
       

  • Que veulent mes clients? Si la durabilité ne constitue pas un critère d’achat pour les clients, le fait de rendre votre produit ou service plus écologique peut ne pas avoir de sens. Considérez plutôt d’autres domaines de vos activités commerciales que vous pourriez rendre plus durables.

  • Que font mes concurrents? Le fait que vos concurrents entreprennent ou non des initiatives de durabilité a des conséquences pour votre entreprise. S’ils le font, vous risquez d’être laissé pour compte. Sinon, ce peut être une occasion de vous distinguer de vos concurrents.

Par où commencer?

Trouver la manière exacte d’intégrer la durabilité dans votre entreprise requiert du temps et de la minutie. Ce processus en quatre étapes vous aidera à tenir compte de certaines considérations clés et à établir la planification nécessaire pour développer et communiquer votre engagement en faveur de la durabilité:


1. Réaliser — Déterminez en quoi votre entreprise a une incidence sur l’environnement. Pensez à des questions comme :

  • Quels sont les processus commerciaux qui consomment de l’énergie?  

  • D’où viennent mes produits? Ces endroits ont-ils mis en œuvre des lois sur la protection de l’environnement? 

  • Quelles sont les ressources qui soutiennent mon service?  

  • Comment dois-je livrer mon produit ou service?

En outre, envisagez la possibilité d’établir une base de référence pour l’impact environnemental de votre entreprise. L’ENERGY STAR Portfolio Manager, offert conjointement avec Ressources naturelles Canada, est un outil gratuit qui peut vous aider à évaluer l’énergie, l’eau et les émissions de gaz à effet de serre liées à votre entreprise : https://www.rncan.gc.ca/energie/efficacite/batiments/analyse-comparative/3694?_ga=2.237285702.799306777.1608155519-959338887.1608155519

2. Comprendre — Déterminez comment l’environnement dans lequel vous évoluez influence votre entreprise. Passez en revue les questions de la section « La durabilité est-elle adaptée à mon entreprise? » Appliquez une nouvelle optique de durabilité au canevas de votre modèle d’entreprise :


  • Que puis-je contrôler ou changer?
       

  • Qui sont les intervenants qui influencent ma décision?
       

  • Comment un changement apporté à un certain aspect, par exemple un fournisseur, affectera-t-il le reste du canevas?   

3. Explorer – À partir des informations recueillies lors des étapes précédentes, définissez vos options en matière de pratiques commerciales durables. Les idées qui suivent vont du niveau débutant au niveau avancé. Elles peuvent donc être mises en œuvre rapidement ou nécessiter une planification et des ressources importantes :


Niveau de difficultéInitiative de durabilitéRemarques
Débutant

Limiter les coûts relatifs à l’éclairage


  • L’éclairage peut représenter entre 20 % et 50 % de la facture d’électricité, selon le type d’entreprise.

  • Le passage à un éclairage D.E.L. plutôt qu’à un éclairage à incandescence ou à halogène peut permettre d’économiser jusqu’à 75 % de cette énergie et les détecteurs de mouvement peuvent également réduire considérablement les coûts.

Débutant

Participer à des initiatives locales


DébutantRéduire les produits à utilisation unique

Par exemple, le papier :

  • La production de papier nécessite la consommation de grandes quantités d’énergie.  
  • Le passage aux technologies numériques peut permettre d’économiser du temps et de l’argent.

  • La réduction de la quantité d’emballages utilisés pour expédier les produits peut également contribuer à réduire la quantité de déchets générée.

IntermédiaireFaire l’achat d’outils efficaces
IntermédiaireEffectuer un contrôle des fournisseurs
  • Si les petites entreprises ne peuvent pas contrôler les fournisseurs comme le font les grandes sociétés, cela ne signifie pas pour autant qu’elles ne peuvent pas être sélectives.          
  • Lorsque vous vous procurez des produits ou des matériaux auprès d’un fournisseur, demandez-lui s’il a des certifications ou des initiatives de durabilité.

  • Recherchez les différentes certifications de produits et comprenez-en la signification. Ces écoétiquettes indiquent qu’un produit satisfait à un ensemble de normes environnementales. 
  • Envisagez la possibilité d’acheter localement pour réduire les émissions dues au transport.

IntermédiaireEffectuer un contrôle de vos locaux 
AvancéObtenir une certification auprès d’un tiers
AvancéRénover les bâtiments

4. Mettre en œuvre — Après avoir exploré certaines options, définissez vos objectifs de durabilité et créez un plan pour les atteindre. Enfin, déterminez comment vous allez faire connaître vos initiatives aux clients.


Après avoir examiné l’impact de votre entreprise et l’environnement dans lequel vous évoluez, et étudié différentes options, vous êtes prêt à établir des objectifs réalistes et un plan pour les atteindre. Pour vous assurer de définir des objectifs de qualité, ayez recours au modèle SMART (spécifique, mesurable, atteignable, réaliste et temporel). En outre, établissez un plan pour examiner et évaluer vos objectifs de manière continue.


Si vous avez l’intention de commercialiser vos initiatives de durabilité, il est essentiel de déterminer comment faire connaître clairement vos objectifs et vos réalisations aux divers intervenants. Les accusations d’écoblanchiment peuvent causer un préjudice considérable, comme l’a fait remarquer le directeur de la stratégie de BDC, « une réputation prend de nombreuses années à se construire, mais peut se perdre en quelques minutes ». En suivant le modèle « réaliser, comprendre, explorer et mettre en œuvre » pour renforcer votre engagement en faveur de la durabilité, vous avez déjà fait un pas dans la bonne direction pour réduire ce risque. Il existe toutefois d’autres pratiques exemplaires à prendre en considération :


  1. Commencez par un excellent produit ou service — Les avantages de la durabilité ne suffiront pas à eux seuls à attirer et à retenir les clients. Le produit ou service de base doit répondre adéquatement aux besoins du client avant que ses attributs de durabilité soient convaincants pour lui.

  2. Assurez-vous que le terme « vert » convient à votre marque — L’authenticité perçue de la durabilité de votre marque dépend de l’étendue de votre engagement. Le fait de détenir un seul élément dans une gamme de produits est susceptible d’être perçu comme de l’écoblanchiment. Cela ne signifie pas que vous ne pouvez pas présenter des initiatives de durabilité de moindre envergure aux clients, mais que la promotion doit être proportionnelle au travail accompli.

  3. Tenez compte de votre marché — Pour que la durabilité ajoute de la valeur à votre marque, elle doit vous permettre de vous distinguer de vos concurrents. Pour communiquer efficacement vos initiatives de durabilité, il est important d’étudier celles des concurrents et de trouver des moyens uniques de présenter les vôtres.

  4. Faites preuve de transparence et d’honnêteté — Il n’est pas nécessaire que l’ensemble de votre entreprise soit durable pour affirmer qu’elle l’est, mais être clair quant à votre engagement est essentiel. La meilleure façon d’éviter les accusations d’écoblanchiment et de gagner la confiance des clients consiste à faire preuve d’honnêteté dans vos représentations. Pour obtenir des conseils sur les pratiques exemplaires en matière d’allégations commerciales, consultez le site: https://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/cb-bc.nsf/fra/02701.html


Études de cas de petites entreprises

Notes:

  1. https://online.hbs.edu/blog/post/what-is-sustainability-in-business
  2. https://bimpactassessment.net/sites/all/themes/bcorp_impact/pdfs/EM_Evaluating_Suppliers_Distributors_Social_%20Environmental_Practices.pdf
  3. le modèle « réaliser, comprendre, explorer et mettre en œuvre » adapté de:  https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/files/documents/smart_steps_greening_guide.pdf
  4. https://www.sba.gov/category/types-businesses/green-business
  5. https://www.bdc.ca/en/articles-tools/money-finance/manage-finances/pages/how-increase-profits-cutting-energy-costs.aspx?type=C&order=2
  6. https://www.sba.gov/category/types-businesses/green-business
  7. https://www.bdc.ca/en/articles-tools/business-strategy-planning/manage-business/pages/how-greening-your-business-can-save-you-money.aspx
  8. https://www.bdc.ca/en/articles-tools/marketing-sales-export/marketing/pages/green-marketing-provides-competitive-advantages.aspx